My works network system

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My works network system

First off, hello to all of you, as you may be able to tell im new to this whole thing and this is my first post ive read all the rules and totally agree with them and have found out a fair bit of usefull information from previous posts.
    Basically it starts from i ride trials bikes, then got into making videos and then hosting them on websites. Now i feel im quite fluent with building websites along with the use of flash and other such things. I am however only 16 so yes i have oh so much to learn and ive recently realised that.
    Ok i left school and got took on for a job as my title says "website admin" description of this is my boss owns a fair few companies and im updating and remaking the lot for him. Along with this i have been known as being relatively good at fixing software problems, not to brag at all but so far (touch wood) i havent come across a software problem i couldnt fix one way or another.
    So just lately i have been landed the job of taking care of our network, keeping an eye on what people are downloading and looking at what they are using there computers for and keeping things in general running order.

Now my biggest worry - file and printer sharing, ive read over the net that this is basically a door saying come through and hack me, is this so?
    Yeah i am pretty worried seeing as now this network is my responsibility and will land on my shoulders if something goes tits up, and yes you may of gathered we have a big amount of file and printer sharing all across our network.

I would greatly apreciate any help on what i need to look out for what people can do and how i can stop it.