Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hacking how dangerous can it get to the public?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hacking how dangerous can it get to the public?

I had a sudden Thought warp when I was watching president Obama's message to the public on Cyber Security and about creating a whole new Department for it....

The question is
    How dangerous can or will Hacking get? How much damage can some Super Hackers do to the public? Can it get to a National security level?

I mean sure a group DDOS twitter or facebook.... Big deal its not a real threat to the world. Just a load of angry teenagers who can't beg women for nude photos.... (pun intended) a Korean releases a worm that deletes all data and causes hardware damage... The general public is angry, where's the Really big threat here?

I'm quite new to the Hacker/ Security sub-culture, so pardon me if this sounds really stupid. but feel free to harsh!

I'm just hanging around alot of non-techies That only use comp's to sit on myspace and facebook all day... None of them care about a virus infection or Botnets. They give me the same type of response every time of; "who cares about my chat history or comp records? I don't bank on my computer at all"

So any interesting or creative responses to throw at me? I'm all ears!
    "If the world didn't suck, we'd all fall off!"

Re: Hacking how dangerous can it get to the public?

Search this forum for SCADA. You'll find a couple of discussions that relate to this.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

Comment

Originally posted by Lichking775 View Post
      I had a sudden Thought warp when I was watching president Obama's message to the public on Cyber Security and about creating a whole new Department for it....

The question is