One of my favorite old fables is "stone soup" which tells the tale of a masterful bit of social engineering taking place several hundred years ago. (google it- if you've never heard of it) Its one more proof (as if one was needed) that human nature never changes. What does stone soup have to do with "the backyard supercomputer'? [BYS] Well yesterday when I was out I stopped into the local PC repair shop to check on the cheapie HP Omnibook I'd bought for a song on EBay- all the pretty lights went on, but nothing else happened. After waiting an hour, I concluded that this was rather slow, even for a PC and took it on over to the intensive care unit. Too late. It was dead as a doornail, which in itself was no big deal. I'd only paid $40 for it and I got that refunded with an email. I'd bought the Cadaver-book as a mobile way to run Knoppix STD and, though I'm an apple tech and spend a good portion of my time fixing and refurbing powerbooks and ibooks, I know absolutely nothing about x86 machines. More by inclination than anything else I guess, but when the choice came down to finding a YD ST distro (or trying to port the Knoppix over to YD) and spending $40 on ebay, The choice was clear. In the true spirit of enterprising laziness, I broke down and bought one of the PIII buggers. That is how I ended up in a PC repair shop that fair winter afternoon. And that is how I ended up loading 5 free windows boxes (III's to be fair, but processing is processing and the IV's aren't actually that much faster until you get into the 4ghz range- and they're actually faster in many cases than the celerons. btw, this is all info from PC pros, and not Apple propaganda) into the trunk of my Saab convertible. It seems that word spreads quickly. I'd only been officially at this for a couple of weeks!
But the stone soup model holds up yet again. And this is just one of the things I have up my sleeve as I attempt to build the BYS into something approaching the supercomputer standard.