So in my new facility as a security engineer I was sent to China to help to assess and secure a network there for the delivery of sensitive corporate IP for the engineers to work with.

I was in Shanghai for nearly a month just recently and was impressed by the city, it's very clean, not smelly, the roads don't have pot holes, people are friendly (at least I think they are I don't speak Chinese).

The engineers I spoke with there are bright, professional and very helpful. Overall the experience was an awesome one.

While there I met with Earnst & Young to discuss the local "security climate", things that are particular to China. I found a few things they mentioned very interesting.

We as security professionals, and internet nerds often joke about being "hacked by Chinese" and I don't think anyone would argue that very often the source of attacks and a lot of the development of new malware/viruses (etc) are sourced in China. The interesting part is, the Chinese very often hack themselves before they hack anyone else. In fact the majority of cyber attacks occur in China, at a rate of nearly twice that any where else in the world. It makes sense if you think about it, a TON of foreign (American and other) companies are there right now, and why not hack them on your own soil? It's a back door very often straight into the corporate network with an elevated level of trust. Also, the local Chinese owned companies have a lot of valuable information on their networks as well. The black markets for just about anything there is very much alive and well. I have a 40 dollar rolex to prove it.