<-- total noob

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• <-- total noob

Hi...I'm sad to say I've never been to defcon...I'm thinking about going with a couple friends that know about computers. We really want to learn more, but there's nowhere to learn it from, except the internet. I would like to attend workshops and all that crap (I REALLY WANT TO LEARN), but you know...I'm in like the middle of nowhere where people think I'm the computer god...lol. Would like some pointers and some do's and don'ts if I decide to go. I've got all the basics about computers...built several...need to learn more about networks...you guys probably know what I mean
    I am a learner seeking direction, but why so many fingers pointing everywhere?

Well.... you got the run part right. I am in a similar situation, different part of the country. Learning is a much slower process when you don't have others at the same level per topic interested in learning along with you. The only solution that I have concluded is to move, or to keep muddling through like a snail.

Defcon is a breath of fresh air... if but a short one
    if it gets me nowhere, I'll go there proud; and I'm gonna go there free.

Comment

I see no reason why one in the middle-of-nowhere cannot learn as much (if not more) than one submerged in tech society. It takes more effort, but it can be done.
      At least you're not asking for a 'mentor'. Gah, I never saw the purpose of such a thing. It just seemed like regurgitation of misinformation from MGM's Hackers.

Advice? Look for e-books. They’re free and don’t take up a bunch of space in your room. I'd start with something on TCP/IP and Unix (or some variant thereof). After that, maybe dabble around with coding. HTML/PHP is always a useful skill from which you can make some easy cash, keep that in mind.
      Use the fact that you're the only computer literate person in an isolated area. You've got your own little monopoly waiting to be exploited.

Comment