linksys security

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• linksys security

I am a newbie and I need help. I am currently running win98 (installing redhat 9 in couple of days) with ZA and am now using the BEFSR41 router. Before I got the router I was stealthed on all ports (as far as I know). After i got it I noticed port 113 was closed but not stealth. Now I have stealthed port 113.

But, I have question about further configure for router. If I put http://my.ip.here in my browser, my router config window opens and asks for password. My question is: can anyone put this into their browser and access my router config or computer? If so, what do I do?

merc

No, because the IP address that you put in is a local address. For example 192.168.1.1. They would have to be on your local network first, then they could be able to gain access to the login screen to access the router. Once there, they'd have to figure out your username/password.

Also, make sure you changed the default password of "admin."
    Last edited by GodMinusOne; July 22, 2003, 12:45.
    You're either on my side or else you're in the way.

Comment

Another Note

Also, never enable "remote management" otherwise your router will be accesible from the internet. By default this should be turned off, but if it is on then by default it runs on port 8080.

At one point in time in earlier revisions of the Linksys firmware the usernames and passwords were stored in plaintext inside of the html document. (Plain Stupidity). So you really want to keep remote management off.

Mac address filtering also may be a good idea if you're paranoid. Although it's only trivial to defeat it's another layer of security.

Linksys Bugs!(!@