Hotworld

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hotworld

I received an e-mail from a-squared this morning advising me of the spyware "Hotworld", so I updated my protection, ran a scan and went back to business as usual. I know that many on this forum are security professionals, I address my questions to them. Is there a point where the fence is built too high? Does security have to impede productivity? It took me about 45 minutes to update and scan, time that I could have used for other matters. I guess my question really is: At what point does security become paranoia? It seems that I spend as much time securing my computers as I do actually getting any work done on it. As everyone who has read my posts knows, I am not a security expert, I am a concerned user who joined this forum to learn how to better protect my investment (computers) from malicious hackers. I run Microsoft Firewall, Microsoft (Giant) Antivirus, Kerio Personal Firewall, Norton Antivirus 2004, Spybot S&D, HijackThis, and a-squared. At what point can I say, "This is enough, my computers are protected?" Or am I missing something that is vital to the security of my computers?
    I enjoy talking to myself...it's usually the only intelligent conversations I get to have.

As the official newguy to the DC forums, I can say that no matter how good protection (antivirus) gets, theres always going to be someone who finds a way to bypass it. A chink in the armour if you will.

Theres viruses/adware/spyware that indivudily can scoot around norton, spybot, adaware, hijack this ect ect ect.

Comment

CISSP 101 says your almost right.

The CIA paradigm is a fundation theory that addresses your concerns. You want to insure that (C)onfedtioniallity is preserverd and the (I)ntigrity of data is kept while insuring the best (A)vailibity of the data.