precautions for college?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• precautions for college?

I will be heading to college in August, and I plan on taking my desktop and my laptop along with me. I have concerns as to the precautions I shoulds take to secure my machines both physical and software. I'm still fairly new to the world of cracking into computers, and the such, so I'm a bit in the dark of all the vunerabilities I truely have. Both my computers are running Win XP Pro. I've taken the precaution to set a password for my user account, change the name of the administration, and set a different password for the administration account, plus I've disabled the guest account in Windows. My desktop has a bios password set, but I can't seem to find a way to set up a boot password on it. My laptop has a bios password, boot password, and a hard drive password set on it. Security for the laptop will probably only needed while I sleep because it will probably be with me at all other times, but the desktop I know is in serious need of protection. As for virus protection I'm using "Spybot Search and Destroy", Ad-aware SE Professional, and on my laptop I have a free subscription to McAfee for 6 months I think. I haven't had any problems with viruses or hackers, but I'm working on upgrading my security measures in that area, so that's not a problem for me right now. My main concern is that I still don't know who my dorm roomates will be, I'm going for a degree in Computer Science, and I have no idea of what is in store for me once I get to college. Let me know if you need any more info, or point me in the direction of where I can find my answers if I somehow overlooked them.

when it comes to virus scanning I use House Call it seems to get the jorb done. for security you'll have to ask these other geeks
    If I had a nickle for every time someone offered me ten cents to keep my two cents to myself... I would be a rich man.

Comment

Here are a few more ideas.