Epic Failure: Offtopic Posts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Epic Failure: Offtopic Posts

I want to be a monkey butler. Just because it is a cool title.

Epic Failure: Offtopic Posts

Speaking from my own particular background about a newbie track.

I'm a career changer. I was a high school teacher at this point in time one year ago. I attended Defcon 16. Wow, you say, total noobsauce at the 1337 hacker convention! I know, I reply, I know...

My own personal reasons for espousing a newbie track for a convention are simple...not everyone you get at a con has been doing this for a long time. As someone else mentioned, additionally there are people who are experts in one field but to the detriment of others. MORE so additionally, many of the things commonly associated with computer security can be regarded as murky legally unless you run your own network (which, esp. for newbies, can be unlikely). If you want to break into CompSec, you better know how to use, and have boku experience with every tool available. On the other hand, you don't want to start blindly ping sweeping your local ISP's network not knowing what the hell you're doing.

What I would most like to see, and what I mentioned in the suggestions thread 6 months ago, are hands on items. I would love to see a network open and available for newbies to screw around on all weekend. I would love for there to be specific designated CTF games for newbies. I didn't want to join a CTF game only to lose horribly and not learn anything. A simple soldering class on Thursday or Friday would do wonders for self confidence before stepping into the HHV.

Now, I went to DC16, so I'm a little more seasoned for this year, but it's intimidating for people to step up and try something they don't know how to do. It's one thing to try something in your own home, but it's entirely different to do it in front of an audience of people who are much much better than you.